Heading for a spin

Yashica

Skip back to a couple of months ago. I was rummaging through the closet where I found some analogue cameras stashed. Most of them where very basic point and shoot cameras but amongst them was also a Yashica GS. Nice retro look and good quality lens, but my brother told me he had taken the camera to a shop last year where they told him the camera wasn’t of much use as they no longer produced batteries for it. Early ending of the Yashica adventure.

Skip to a couple of weeks ago. I met Mike and the next day I noticed he was using a Yashica GSN. He let me in on the secrets and explained to me how to use it with and without (as he does) a battery. Later that week I got my Yashica out when meeting up with Tish and Izzy. I didn’t really read much on it and I wasn’t even sure I had loaded the film correctly but working with the camera felt rather good.

Skip to today. My mom passed by the drugstore and picked up my prints while she was at it. I didn’t expected too much from it because by now I realized I made some fatal mistakes on both shutter speed timing as choosing the ISO. But between the many blurry and underexposed pictures there were some promises of what could happen when Yashica and I get to know eachother a little better.

Looking forward to go Yashica shooting with Mikey when he’s back in Europe, even if it means I’ll have to wait until February.

8 responses

  1. Attila

    Wow, I’m impressed by the colors, did you edit these in any way before posting them or is the Yashica just that good?

    August 5, 2010 at 21:30

  2. You are going to have fun! I really like that last one…

    August 6, 2010 at 01:44

  3. Gerlin

    Die laatste is echt heel mooi!

    August 6, 2010 at 17:28

  4. Thanks!

    Attila: no editing , these are as they were developed. Yashica’s colours are to be applauded!

    August 7, 2010 at 14:09

  5. I have three Electro 35s…great cameras! Your first roll looks good. There are lots of ways to shoehorn a different battery into place. Google it or email me if you can’t find anything. I highly recommend batteries. Makes getting the right exposure a lot easier. :)

    August 12, 2010 at 17:49

    • hey Matt, thanks for the tips! I read about it, and even though I was planning on getting the battery problem sorted, by now I quite like shooting with the fixed shutter speed and making it work with the ISO and aperture! I reckon it’s good practice for an analogue beginner. Plus, I’m a bit lazy. I’ll keep your words in mind though and I’ll probably try at least once with a battery soon!

      September 1, 2010 at 16:55

  6. megafoon

    Been there as well, great place for taking pictures!

    August 17, 2010 at 10:28

  7. mooi

    dat bord van Antwerpen komt er zo mooi uit

    September 1, 2010 at 09:46

Leave a Reply

