Heading for a spin

disposable WOMEN – Amsterdam & Paris

Two weeks ago I went to Amsterdam to see those 5 Canadians who I hadn’t seen for what seemed an eternity. After a huge delay I arrived in Amsterdam where I was greeted by the characteristic bicycles and rain. Of course I got lost and of course I ended up in a thunderstorm, arriving 4 hours later than planned.

But who would care if you finally get to see lovely people back and meet new people. Like Andy, a British student who I started talking to by accident while looking for Studio 80. Or Nick Helderman, a young photographer whose work I admire and I’d recommend to anyone interested in music photography.

Next  day  I went with them to Paris where they shared a line-up with the band Nurses. Their album Apple’s Acre made it into my best of 2009 list.
I’m not sure I’ll ever get the appeal of Paris. I love the streets –  if  only they could be deserted, I can’t find it in my heart to love the Parisians as Americans (and Canadians) seem to. I prefer understated.

When two of the Americans and I stopped for crêpes on our way back to the hotel, I discovered that Paris’ negative attitude towards Americans isn’t a myth created in  the europhobic, paranoid American mind. It’s a disgrace how the crêpes vendors tried to swindle money out of them. I’m taking the American side on this one. The nicest people I met in Paris were a booker from Bordeaux and the drummer in El Boy Die from Lyon. You’re not even trying Paris.

I didn’t lose any sleep over it.  I did over Matt’s weird but funny sleeping habits.

ON REPEAT: Women - Eyesore
ON REPEAT: Nurses - Caterpillar
2 responses

  1. For the most part my experiences with Parisians have been good. But once in a while someone will try to take advantage of or exploit me being American. Then they realize I am not the typical tourist and can add and subtract a little in French, they do the right thing.

    I had a waiter at a restaurant try to keep my 2 Euro when I paid my bill. He did not come back with any change. He must have assumed I didn’t know about not tipping in France. I asked him for my change and he said “2 Euro??” I said yes please give me my change. He huffed and went to go get it.

    I was upset. I will not go back to that restaurant again.

    September 29, 2010 at 21:10

    • That’s plain rude, I can imagine you were upset. I hope it wasn’t shortly after you arrived in Paris. Personally I didn’t have any bad experiences with the Parisians up until the crêpes incident. I was really surprised to discover that this rumour was true. But I do have the impression that a great deal of American tourists (or perhaps tourists in general) are submissive to it. They seem to put up with it instead of going against it.

      October 5, 2010 at 20:32

Leave a Reply

